| News | League News | Season 2018/19 | 2019/20 Toolstation NCEL line-ups revealed

League News for

2019/20 Toolstation NCEL line-ups revealed

19th May, 2019

The provisional list of teams competing in the Toolstation NCEL Premier Division and Division One in the 2019/20 season has been released by the FA.

Both divisions will once again each run with twenty clubs but promotion, relegation and lateral movement within the National League System means there will be five different sides in the league, including three new faces.

AFC Mansfield return to the Premier Division following their relegation from the Northern Premier League, and they are joined by Grimsby Borough who won the NCEL Division One title and Silsden who will make their debut in the competition after moving sideways from the North West Counties League.

Champions Worksop Town make the move up into the Northern Premier League whilst the bottom two sides, Harrogate Railway Athletic and Hall Road Rangers, drop down into Division One.

Brigg Town (Lincolnshire League) and Retford (Central Midlands League) are promoted from Step 7 into Division One that will also include new club North Ferriby.

Brigg, like AFC Mansfield, are back in the NCEL after one season away whilst Retford are in the competition for the first time.

AFC Emley (now Emley AFC) and Shirebrook Town leave the NCEL having been moved laterally to the North West Counties League and the East Midlands Counties League, respectively.

FC Bolsover finished in the bottom two of Division One but have been reprieved from relegation and given a place in the East Midlands Counties League whilst basement side Harworth Colliery will drop down to Step 7.

There is also a name change for one of our clubs with East Yorkshire Carnegie becoming East Hull.

The Toolstation NCEL welcomes all the new clubs to the competition whilst it is a sad farewell to those who are leaving us, all of whom have been great representatives of the league.


1. AFC Mansfield (from Northern Premier League)
2. Albion Sports
3. Athersley Recreation
4. Barton Town
5. Bottesford Town
6. Bridlington Town
7. Eccleshill United
8. Garforth Town
9. Goole AFC
10. Grimsby Borough (from NCEL Division One)
11. Handsworth Parramore
12. Hemsworth Miners Welfare
13. Knaresborough Town
14. Liversedge
15. Maltby Main
16. Penistone Church
17. Silsden (from North West Counties League)
18. Staveley Miners Welfare
19. Thackley
20. Yorkshire Amateur
1. Armthorpe Welfare
2. Brigg Town (from Lincolnshire League)
3. Campion
4. Dronfield Town
5. East Hull (formerly East Yorkshire Carnegie)
6. Glasshoughton Welfare
7. Hall Road Rangers (from NCEL Premier Division)
8. Hallam
9. Harrogate Railway Athletic (from NCEL Premier Division)
10. North Ferriby (new club)
11. Nostell Miners Welfare
12. Ollerton Town
13. Parkgate
14. Retford (from Central Midlands League)
15. Rossington Main
16. Selby Town
17. Skegness Town
18. Swallownest
19. Winterton Rangers
20. Worsbrough Bridge Athletic

Teams leaving NCEL: Emley AFC (formerly AFC Emley, to North West Counties League), FC Bolsover (to East Midlands Counties League), Harworth Colliery (to Step 7), Shirebrook Town (to East Midlands Counties League), Worksop Town (to Northern Premier League).

The league constitution will be officially rubber-stamped at the NCEL Annual AGM that takes place at the Cedar Court Hotel in Harrogate on Saturday 15th June, 2019.

Latest Stories by Section